Minutes of the Thirty Fourth Annual General Meeting of Orkney Housing Association Limited held on Wednesday 18 September 2019 at Orkney College, Kirkwall, at 5.30pm

Present:

Members: Wendy Baikie, Kate Barrett, Jim Chalmers, Philip Cook, Andrew

Drever, Kath Fennell, John Foster, Maureen Grant, Robert Innes, Sally Inkster, Moira Irvine, Peter Johnston, Allan Leslie, Fiona Lettice, Sheona Macgregor, Liz Melvin, John Rodwell, Andrea Skutova, Diana

Swan, Jason Taylor and Roella Wilson.

Non-Members: Eddie Abbott-Halpin, Nigel Barclay, Kirsty Francis, Eibhlin Lee,

Dorothy Rendall, Lindsey Johnson, Jonathan Porterfield, John Richards, Anne Robertson, Alan Scott, Sarah Sutherland, Anna

Whelan and James Wylie.

Staff: Brian Barnett, Maria Black, Sandy Dennison, Fraser Devine, Anne

Fletcher, Richard Flett, Craig Gillon, Colin Gunn, Mhairi Hughes, Karen Kiluk, Aimee Leask, Saffron Macivor, Emma McConnachie, Leanne Omand, Robert Leslie, Rachel Peace, Paul Scott, Connie

Shearer and Craig Spence.

John Rodwell (Chair) welcomed all those present. He said this would be his last year as Chair, having spent 5 years in the role, and, according to the Rules, would have to step down but looked forward to supporting the new Chair.

He also introduced those at the top table: Mhairi Hughes (Secretary), Craig Spence (Chief Executive - CE) and Anne Fletcher (Director of Finance & Asset Management - DFAM).

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

33 apologies had been received from Members and these will be duly recorded in the Minutes. Non-member apologies will also be noted.

Members:

Jon Barker, Miss J M Bethany, Jean Booth, Jane Bruce, Hugh Cameron, Frederick M Corsie, Francesca Couperwhite, Dave Dawson, Winifred Dunnet, Catherine Fereday-Eshete, Jim Elrick, Linda Forbes, Elaine Grieve, George Hannah, Sheila Hudson, Rognvald DSD Johnson, Linda Lennie, Stephen Manson, Mr F McGinn, Dora Mackay, Edwin Mackay, Stuart Roy McIvor, David Murdoch, Andrewina Ross, Mr J Skea, Mrs M Skea, John Stockan, Doris Stout, Clive Thomson, Mr T Thornley, Bill Wallace, John White and Inga Wood.

Non-Members:

Janice Annal, Barbara Brown, Alistair Carmichael, Andrew Cowan, Eleanor Fraser, Graeme Galloway, Scott Gillon, Margaret Keenan, Gillian Morrison, Liam McArthur, Roddy MacKay, John Mundell, Alistair Nicoll, Anne Norrie, Gerry O'Brien, Christopher Omand, Stephen Omand, Steven Paterson, Mairi Ross-Grey, Mrs R Thornley, Frances Troup, Duncan Tullock, Chief Insp Matthew Webb and Wilf Weir.

Proxies had been received from:

Jon Barker, Hugh Cameron, Fredrick M Corsie, Linda Forbes and Rognvald DSD Johnson.

2. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE 33rd ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 19 SEPTEMBER 2018

There being no changes or comments, Allan Leslie proposed that the Minutes be adopted and this was seconded by Sheona Macgregor. The Chair later signed the Minutes.

3. MATTERS ARISING

There were no matters arising from the Minutes.

4. ANNUAL REPORT FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 MARCH 2019

The Chair introduced the 2019 Annual Report and highlighted a few areas that had been significant for the Association over the year:

- Year of change with one Committee Member standing down and 2 joining.
- High level of Tenant Satisfaction levels which we are pleased to see.
- Good response from Staff Survey showed 100% of staff enjoy their job and are proud to work for the Association.
- Changes in staff teams, with 3 retirements in the year.
- Celebrations for 30 years of Orkney Care & Repair.
- The revised Regulatory Framework means an Annual Assurance Statement must be submitted to the Scottish Housing Regulator for the first time this year.
- Close partnership working with OIC included a successful joint Seminar during the year.

The Chair thanked Committee Members and OHAL staff for their support during his 5 years as Chair. He then invited comments and questions on the Annual Report but there were none.

5. RECEIPT OF THE REPORT & FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 MARCH 2019

Copies of the full accounts were made available at the meeting.

The DFAM gave a presentation on the highlights of the accounts. The Association had received a clean Audit Report and Management Letter from the auditors, Wylie & Bisset. Accounts are always thoroughly scrutinised by both Audit & Risk Management Sub-committee and Management Committee before being presented at the AGM.

After going over the Income and Expenditure figures, she concluded that the

Statement of Financial Position showed that OHAL was in a good financial position at the year end to continue to work towards its core objectives.

The Chair said this was a very strong set of accounts and thanked the DFAM for her presentation before inviting comments and questions.

A member enquired as to how often kitchen and windows are replaced. Richard Flett, the Development & Properties Manager, said kitchens were replaced every 20 years and for windows this would depend on the type and condition.

6. APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR FOR 2019/20

The Chair advised that the Rules state the Auditor is automatically re-appointed unless notice is given of a resolution not to do so. No such notice has been given so Wylie & Bisset are automatically re-appointed as Auditors for the current year.

The Chair wished to point out 2 highlights - awards which the Association had received. The Rural Housing Development of the year was awarded for the development at Sands Park, Deerness; and the Housing Association of the Year was recently received from the Scottish Home Awards.

7. ELECTION OF COMMITTEE OF MANAGEMENT

The Secretary said that the Management Committee undertake a lot of great work, voluntarily, on behalf of the Association and its members. She took the opportunity to thank them for their contribution and the support they provided over the last year.

She went on to explain that the Rules require that Management Committee consist of between 7 and 15 members of which one third must retire each AGM. There are currently 9 full members which means 3 are required to stand down at this AGM. Dave Dawson and John Rodwell are standing down and are willing to stand for reelection. John Stockan is retiring from the Committee after 9 years' service — though he could not be present tonight, she wished him all the best in his future projects. In addition to this, nomination forms had been received from Roella Wilson, who joined in March to fill a casual vacancy, and Jason Taylor, who was co-opted in March. Together with John White, all 3 are willing to stand for election.

This results in 11 members so no vote is required and the Management Committee will comprise: Wendy Baikie, Philip Cook, Dave Dawson, Linda Forbes, Elaine Grieve, Fiona Lettice, John Rodwell, Jason Taylor, Bill Wallace, John White and Roella Wilson.

The Secretary then asked them all to stand and make themselves known to general members.

The Chair encouraged anyone interested in joining Management Committee to get in touch with the Secretary or speak to a Committee Member.

At 6.05pm, the formal part of the AGM was concluded.

LONG SERVICE AWARDS PRESENTATION

The Chair presented Maria Black, Housing Services Officer, with a long-service award. She has been with the Association for 20 years.

PRESENTATION

The Chair then introduced Robert Leslie who gave a presentation entitled *Plugged-in Households: A ZE Car Club for Orkney.* He explained how the idea for introducing zero emission vehicles in Orkney came about and detailed the time-line to bringing the project to its present position.

Jonathan Porterfield of Eco Wheels then gave a presentation on the *Co-wheels Car Club*. He explained what the car club was all about and how the system operated, not just in Orkney but further afield.

This was followed by a number of questions from the audience.

| Signed: | Date: |
|---------|-------|
| Chair | |